West Leederville Hidden Gems
Having to attend an appointment in Subiaco we decided to walk from Leederville Station along Cambridge Street to St John of God Hospital. It was only a 1.4km walk which would take about 20 minutes - much quicker than continuing on by train.
As always we found lots of interesting discoveries along the way, which is why we like walking!
First up was Holyrood Park which is very dated but has some interesting artwork and a traditional playground.
Next up was the heritage listed Leederville Town Hall, built in two stages in 1904 and 1914.
and the War Memorial and Rose Garden which I found to be very moving and quite beautiful.
Next was Holyrood Street with it's heritage Federation style cottages. Holyrood Street was the first heritage listed street in the Town of Cambridge and to celebrate the heritage listing, two art deco light boxes were installed, which project a collage of historic images on the trunks of two street trees at the Cambridge Street entrance. The tree on the right shows images depicting times prior to 1915 when the street was known as Derby Street. The tree on the left shows images post 1916 when the street became known as Holyrood Street. You can see the lights any night of the week from around 7.30pm.
Some of the commercial buildings attracted our attention with artworks or colourful street frontages.
Cambridge Street is busy but it was pleasant to walk along with it's mature shady trees.
We were early arriving at St John of God so we went for a stroll up McCourt Street to discover the magnificent gardens and buildings of the Catholic Education Office including St Michael the Archangel Chapel. The main buildings were constructed between 1903 and 1920 and originally were part of the Home of the Good Shepherd, a home for delinquents. The Chapel was constructed in 1938.
McCourt Street itself provided lots of interest with some quirky gardens and interesting buildings.
After our appointment we wandered leisurely back on the other side of Cambridge Street passing one of the original Leederville fire stations, which operated between 1929 and1964.
We took a short detour through the bus station to get a closer look at the familiar murals visible from the Mitchell Freeway.
We could have returned along Woolwich Street for a change of scenery but sometimes after appointments you just want to get home!
This was a lovely easy walk of about 3km return which took us about 20 minutes each way
with a break in between.
To read more blogs go to:
In the spirit of reconciliation Out and About- Family Nature Connection acknowledges the traditional owners of the Wadjak boodjar (Perth land) and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and emerging and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.